ITN party heads key committees in parliament

MPs from ITN party (“There Is Such a People”), the frontrunner in the 11 July election, were elected to head key National Assembly committees – on legal affairs, on budget and finance, on energy, on internal order and security.

Today the members of parliament are to elect the leadership and the members of a total of 22 parliamentary committees. Maya Manolova, chair of the “Stand Up, BG! We Are Coming!” parliamentary group, the smallest parliamentary group in the National Assembly, announced that her group is declining leadership positions in the committees over accusations of fighting for posts and power parcellation. National Assembly President Iva Miteva commented that if the other parliamentary groups were to follow suit the committees would be left without leadership which would block the work of parliament. /BGNES